Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#623841 09/24/18 06:36 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
One of my SL2100 customers has a home user with an IP phone. The office where the 2100 is has Mediacom for analog line service. Last week he said call quality was so bad he couldn't use the IP phone. When I called him today he said it has gotten better and was ok. It sounded good to me. I've explained before that it depends on his internet connection. His reply is that when it happens his computer had no problems with internet activity, file transfers, etc.. Both ends have decent ISP connections.

The problem now seems to be that internal calls to or from this IP phone aren't always connected when called. In other words, intercom call to the IP phone - IP phone hears ringing, picks up, nothing there. Problem can also be from IP phone to the office too.

I suggested a VPN router for the IP phone. He took that to his IT folks, who said that device is usually provided, or specified, by the phone system mfg or vendor. I thought it would come from the network side, since it will communicate to the Sonicwall firewall in the main office.

I think the call quality and connection problems might be related. Is there a recommendation for which VPN device to use for this?

Thanks.
Jim

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,181
Likes: 2
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,181
Likes: 2
VPN won't help call quality and in fact will probably hurt it (if VPN fixes it it's a firewall/router issue). File transfers and internet connectivity mean nothing. You don't have dedicated bandwidth its a crap shoot. All you can do is make sure you equipment is set right and that SIP ALG is off. Wireshark is your friend. Check your port forwarding. If you are getting signaling port and not getting voice that UDP traffic needs to be checked. Some firewalls do not like that UDP flooding on IP phones. Make sure the remote site is not router with a router behind it. Seen this where the cable modem isn't in gateway mode.


Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,162
Posts638,208
Members49,736
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
206,906 Shoretel
184,461 CTX100 install
184,036 1a2 system
Newest Members
donlos, naha, ZeGeekFru, smudger008, Jordan-CoastalPh
49,736 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
dexman 11
Toner 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 122 guests, and 29 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5