Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 320
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 320
I have a weird question...

I have an analog line (in CO port 1) that functions as so,

Dialing the number rings out on 1(111)111-1111
Dialing #1, then the number calls out on 1(111)111-1111
Dialing #2, then the number calls out on 2(222)222-2222

What would be the simplest way to allow a user to select either number to call out on?

Nortel Phone System Service
VoIP Demo

Nortel Phone System Service in Canada


Do you need a Nortel Phone System technician or specific Nortel parts?
Atcom to the rescue! Our telephone techs have qualified experience servicing and troubleshooting Nortel CICS, MICS, & BCM telephone systems.
Service in Canada from sea to sea.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,730
Likes: 2
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,730
Likes: 2
Can you clarify what the heck you're talking about?
Are you talking about one or two lines?
If two, have both lines appear on the phone, I guess.

Failing that, place them in different line pools.

At least that's what I think you mean....


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,612
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,612
Not just a weird question but not properly asked as well : ).
I cant make heads or tails of the question either.
Maybe routing is being asked?.

"Dialing the number"

Dialing what number?

" rings out on"

Did you mean calls out?

"1(111)111-1111"

This is a phone number, you cannot "ring out" or dial out on a phone number.


=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 320
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 320
I have two numbers, separate OE/billing/etc which are bonded to a single pair.


Incoming calls function much like Ident-a-Call/Smart Ring/Teen ring...Calls to both 1(111)111-1111 and 2(222)222-2222 ring through to the same copper pair. [however with no distinctive ring]


Outgoing calls function much like described in my original post.

Picking up the receiver you receive local dial tone. Dialing a number (or prefixing #1 then the number) will connect to line #1 and call out on the OE that runs 1(111)111-1111.

Thus displaying 1(111)111-1111 on call display, and this call will be billed to the 1(111)111-1111.

Subsequently if you pick up the receiver and dial #2 then dial a number you will get connected to line #2 and call out on the OE that runs 2(222)222-2222.

Thus displaying 2(222)222-2222 on call display, and this call will be billed to 2(222)222-2222.

Last edited by TheRealAndyCook; 11/27/12 03:58 PM.
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,715
Likes: 11
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,715
Likes: 11
If you have to dial a #1 or #2 to select which number you want your outgoing call on than seems to me that is the only way to do it. You could set up a speed dial that dials the #1 or #2, but I don't see where that would be all that much better.


Retired phone dude
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,612
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,612
So what is the issue or request? you don't want to select your only line and dial #1 or #2?

Program 2 External Auto dial buttons, one with #1 and one with #2 and label them the company name.






=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,730
Likes: 2
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,730
Likes: 2
Doesn't sound even remotely to anything that Bell would provide. What the hell would you be gaining?

If one side of the line is being used, no one else can use that side, nor the other.

Placing a speed dial button on the phone for "1" or "2" seems absolutely stupid to me and would actually take longer to dial the complete outbound number.

So, again we'll ask, what the heck are you trying to accomplish?


Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 320
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 320
Just trying to figure out the most straight forward way to use this CPE.

And, the reason for using this equipment is to tether 2 different cellphones to the system.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 211
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 211
It sounds like you might be using an XLink Gateway. I've got one of those hooked up to a CO port on my Norstar 3x8 at home, but I only use it with one cell phone.

Assuming you're using one of those, or a similar device, I tend to think the easiest way would be a second XLink (for the second cell phone) connected to another CO port. (Mine was only $30).

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,612
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,612
Funny you mentioned that.

I spoke with the programmer for Xlink.

My complaints:
1. No ability to turn off prime line.
i.e. we all have different cell phone plans and don't want each other dialing out on others cell phones in error.
If my cell phone was prime line and kids, wife etc forget to dial their own code then I pay for the call.


2. For those with a PBX or those with 2 and 3 line simple house phones we have to purchase an Xlink for each user so that we can all be on a call at times.
Otherwise it one user at a time.
It would be nice that you have a model with 3 outgoing ports on the back instead of 1.
Too expensive for each user.

---

Number #1 was fixed, they said if I buy one they will upgrade the firmware for me......I have yet to buy one though.

I just sent them a note to see if it is public yet, will advise.


=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada





Moderated by  MooreTel, NTlayoff 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,112
Posts637,984
Members49,726
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
205,774 Shoretel
183,658 CTX100 install
183,197 1a2 system
Newest Members
Jackie22, Griffin, Paso Telecom, goalieonyxvs, kb8doa
49,726 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 11
OBT 5
tim10 5
Yoda 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (nortelvoip), 63 guests, and 40 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5