web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Does anyone know what is used to program a Telrad Key BX 408 system? I have a DSS console for the 816 and works just fine - but does not work at all with the 408. The port is good (a telephone works on sta 21) One thing I noticed is that the programming overlay's that are on site indicate that there are 3 rows of buttons - two vertical rows and one horizontal row. My DSS has a number on the cicuit board of 83-021-2070 it has the woodgrain faceplate and 2 rows of horizontal keys. Any info will help. Thanks

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,350
RIP Admin
*****
Offline
RIP Admin
*****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,350
Did you set the program switch on the mother board so you can program it? It has a switch you have to move to program and then set back when done. Should be on Write and program to program, your 816 dss should work.


Russ runs a local service and private tech center.

[Linked Image from sundance-communications.com][/url]
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Yes, I set the switches on the motherboard - one to program and one to write. If my DSS should work, then it must have gone bad since the last time I used it - I just don't get anything from the DSS, no lights, nothing. It's just like it is dead. When I found the overlay's that were on site, I thought there must be something else to use and that is why it wouldn't reconize my console. Is there any other way to program phones to ring? I just need to get 5-6 more phones ringing. Thanks

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
Moderator-Telrad
Offline
Moderator-Telrad
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
Not sure because I never worked on the 408. My tech says you need to uses the 8/16 programmer.

There were two 8/16 programmers. One was just like the 24/64 dss. The original 8/16 programmer was different. I have them in my office and will describe it a little later.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,631
RIP Admin-Founder
*****
Offline
RIP Admin-Founder
*****
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,631
The 816 programmer I have is a 73-160-0000.
It's called the cat# for catalog.
The Regular DSS is a 73-130-000 which is for the 2464.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,350
RIP Admin
*****
Offline
RIP Admin
*****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,350
He has the first one, it was a brown woodgrain one which to be honest I've never seen, I always used the newer style.

The only other thing I can think of is look to see if that model has a prog dss slide switch on it like the newer style does. But no matter what it's set to you should see something on the dss display.

There is always a chance it could be bad.


Russ runs a local service and private tech center.

[Linked Image from sundance-communications.com][/url]
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,350
RIP Admin
*****
Offline
RIP Admin
*****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,350
He has the first one, it was a brown woodgrain one which to be honest I've never seen I always used the newer style. I still have one of each for the 816 and 2464 in my office. And yes you need to use a dss to program day and night ringing.

The only other thing I can think of is look to see if that model has a prog dss slide switch on it like the newer style does.You'll find it on the back side where the line cord plugs in. But no matter what it's set to you should see something on the dss display.

There is always a chance it could be bad.

Just goes to show you how tough Telrad is, those 408 came out in the later 1980s.


Russ runs a local service and private tech center.

[Linked Image from sundance-communications.com][/url]
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
Moderator-Telrad
Offline
Moderator-Telrad
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,350
RIP Admin
*****
Offline
RIP Admin
*****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,350
I know for a fact that I used the new 816 dss to program the 408's I installed in the past, so I'd assume you could use either style 816 dss.

On a side note, Tony,, that has to be the ugliest dss I've ever seen, lol glad they changed them lol


Russ runs a local service and private tech center.

[Linked Image from sundance-communications.com][/url]
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,925
Likes: 1
Administrator
Offline
Administrator
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,925
Likes: 1
The 408 has to be programmed what little you can program now with the new laugh style 816 DSS/Programmer. The Old style was really from the 2864 days. For a short time Telrad made a metal cabinet 816.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  SSPhone 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,284
Posts638,780
Members49,765
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
211,482 Shoretel
188,504 CTX100 install
187,105 1a2 system
Newest Members
James D., Nadisale, andreww, gohunt, Darrick
49,765 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 23
teleco 5
dexman 4
dans 3
Who's Online Now
1 members (justbill), 71 guests, and 22 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5